2022 Thomas J. “Tommy” Pham GPLI-NKFC Keratoconus Practitioner of the Year

Presented to Dr. S. Barry Eiden

“For exceptional expertise in keratoconus education and management.”

About the Recipient


Dr. Eiden is the President and Medical Director of North Suburban Vision Consultant, Ltd. and an assistant clinical professor at the University of Illinois, Chicago, Department of Ophthalmology, cornea and contact lens service. Dr. Eiden is an adjunct faculty member of the Illinois, Salus University, and University of Missouri at St. Louis Colleges of Optometry. He is a fellow of the American Academy of Optometry and member of the American and Illinois Optometric Associations. Dr. Eiden is a past Chair of the Contact Lens and Cornea Section of the American Optometric Association. He is president and medical director of Keratoconus Specialists of Illinois as well as president and founder of the International Keratoconus Academy of Eye Care Professionals.

An honors graduate of the State University of New York for both undergraduate and professional degrees, Dr. Eiden subsequently completed a post-doctoral residency program in ocular disease management in affiliation with the Illinois College of Optometry and the Westside Veteran’s Administration Medical Center, Chicago. Prior to founding North Suburban Vision Consultants, he was an Assistant Clinical Professor at the State University of New York, College of Optometry at the University Optometric Center where he served as Chief of Primary Eye Care Services.

Specializing in anterior segment/cornea disease diagnosis and managment (special emphasis in keratoconus), complex contact lens management, diagnosis and treatment of glaucoma diagnosis and treatment.

Dr. Eiden has extensive experience in primary eye care, ocular disease management, refractive surgery care, corneal reshaping treatment (CRT) and the treatment of complex contact lens cases. As a research consultant for many contact lens manufacturers, Dr. Eiden is considered both an authority and an innovator in the area of contact lenses and contact lens customization. He is a well-known lecturer both nationally and internationally, has done interviews with television stations & networks, major newspaper & magazines and has been published in many scientific journals.

S. Barry Eiden OD, FAAO, FSLS
North Suburban Vision Consultants
360 S. Waukegan Road, Suite A
Deerfield, IL 60015
(847) 412-0311

Previous Recipients of the Award

This is a new award as of 2022!