2022 Naomi “Jo” Svochak GP Practitioner of the Year

Presented to Dr. Stephanie L. Woo

The GP Lens Institute’s highest honor awarded to a practitioner.


“For outstanding professional expertise in fitting customized contact lenses to benefit patients with improved vision and corneal health, and to advance the contact lens field.”

About the Recipient


Dr. Stephanie L. Woo was born and raised in Lake Havasu City, AZ. She graduated Magna Cum Laude from the University of Arizona with a degree in Biology Science Education. She graduated with honors from the Southern California College of Optometry. She completed a Cornea and Contact Lens Residency at the University of Missouri, St. Louis, where she was trained to fit highly irregular corneas.

She was the recipient of the Gas Permeable Lens Institute Award for Clinical Excellence and also the John R. Griffin Award for Excellence in Vision Therapy. Dr. Woo is a Fellow of the American Academy of Optometry and a Fellow of the Scleral Lens Society.

She authored the Gas Permeable Lens Expert column in Review of Contact Lenses. She is a frequent author to several professional publications including Contact Lens Spectrum, Contact Lens and Cornea section of the American Optometric Association, Review of Cornea and Contact Lenses, and Review of Optometric Business.

She is an active GPLI advisory board member. Dr. Woo is a Past President of the Scleral Lens Education Society, a non-profit organization committed to teaching the art and science of scleral lenses to practitioners.

Dr. Woo is an adjunct professor at Midwestern University. Dr. Woo enjoys lecturing around the world on the subject of contact lenses and anterior segment ocular disease.

Dr. Woo owns the Contact Lens Institute of Nevada, a clinic dedicated entirely to custom contact lenses. In her spare time, Dr. Woo is an avid wine collector and is a Level 2 WSET Sommelier.

Stephanie L. Woo, OD, FAAO, FSLS
Contact Lens Institute of Nevada
9260 W. Sunset Rd
Medical Building II, Suite 209
Las Vegas, NV 89148
(702) 747-4070

Previous Recipients of the Award

2021 – Jason G. Jedlicka, OD, FAAO, FSLS

2020 – Jeffrey J. Walline, OD, PhD

2019 – Susan Resnick, OD, FAAO

2018 – Renée E. Reeder, OD, FAAO

2017 – Jeffrey Sonsino, OD, FAAO

2016 – Douglas P. Benoit, OD, FAAO

2015 – Clarke D. Newman, OD, FAAO

2014 – Michael A. Ward, MMSc, FAAO, FCLSA

2013 – Greg DeNaeyer, OD, FAAO

2011 – Christine W. Sindt, OD, FAAO

2008 – Robert Davis, OD

2007 – Robert M. Grohe, OD

2006 – Barry Adler, OD

2005 – Richard W. Baker, OD

2004 – Cornel LeBlanc,OD

2003 – Joe J. Yager, OD

2002 – Keith S. Ames, OD

2001 – Thomas G. Quinn, Jr., OD, MS

2000 – Joel Halpern, OD

1999 – Richard D. Ebling, OD